ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule, Venue, Teams, Format, Host Country 

The ICC Champions Trophy’s ninth edition is slated to take place in February and March of 2025. The event will be hosted by Pakistan. Regarding the Champions Trophy 2025, there might be a venue change, though, as security concerns might prevent the Indian team from traveling to Pakistan.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Schedule 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) will host the ninth ICC Champions Trophy in 2025, a cricket competition for the eight best-ranked men’s national teams in One Day International (ODI) competitions. Pakistan will host it in February and March of 2025.

It will follow the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 as the next significant limited-overs competition. Since the World Cup in 1996, this will be the first ICC event held in the nation. Pakistan is the reigning champion, having taken first place in the 2017 competition.

IANS reports that because of the continuous hostilities between the two nations, Team India might decide not to go to Pakistan for the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy. The tournament location may be altered, according to a source who spoke to IANS. A hybrid format similar to the one used for the 2023 Asia Cup may be used.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Venue

Due to the political unrest, India is reportedly thinking about skipping the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 in Pakistan. Pakistan is scheduled to host the 2025 ICC Champions Trophy. All the matches will be played in Karachi, Lahore, and Islamabad cricket stadiums. 

As a result of turmoil in politics, India has not been playing in Pakistan since 2006. Only the Asia Cup and ICC competitions pit the bitter rivals against one another. Due to security threats, the Indian squad might not even play in a bilateral tournament in Pakistan for the Champions Trophy in 2025. 

The tournament’s location might shift, or a hybrid approach might be used instead. According to resources, officials said, “India is forced to make a tough choice because the Champions Trophy is an ICC competition, but nothing is possible without official government approval. 

It is very improbable that a bilateral event will occur very soon. It is nearly unfeasible.” The PCB is ensuring that all arrangements, including security and facilities, are of the highest standard to provide a successful and memorable cricketing experience.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Teams 

There will be eight teams competing for the ICC Champions Trophy in 2025. These are the men’s national teams from One Day International (ODI) that are ranked highest, including Pakistan, the host country. 

The classifications at the end of the group stage of the ICC ODI World Cup determined who qualified for the competition. The teams who are eligible for the Champions Trophy are listed below:

  • India
  • Pakistan (Host)
  • Bangladesh
  • New Zealand
  • Afghanistan
  • South Africa
  • Australia
  • England

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Format

The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 will mark the ninth edition of the tournament and is set to follow a format similar to the 2017 edition. The competition will feature eight teams that have qualified based on their rankings from the 2023 Cricket World Cup group stage.

The tournament will be hosted by Pakistan in February and March 2025, with the matches played across various venues, including a new “high-tech” cricket stadium in Islamabad. The eight teams will be distributed into two groups of four teams. 

In the group stage, each team will play against the other teams in their group in a single round-robin format. Then the top two teams from each group will be selected for the semi-finals. The semi-finals will determine the finalists, who will compete for the championship in the grand final. 

This structure ensures a competitive environment where every match can influence the outcome of the group stages and the progression to the knockout rounds. Please note that this information is based on the latest available details and could be subject to change as the event approaches.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Expected Dates

Everyone is eagerly waiting for the final dates of the ICC Champions Trophy 2025. The exact dates of the event are not announced yet but it is anticipated that the event will be played in February and March of 2025.

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 is scheduled to be held from 21st February to 14th March 2025 (Expected) in Pakistan. Here’s a brief overview of the schedule:

  • 21 Feb 2025: Afghanistan vs Bangladesh (Group A)
  • 23 Feb 2025: New Zealand vs Australia (Group A)
  • 25 Feb 2025: England vs South Africa (Group B)
  • 27 Feb 2025: India vs Pakistan (Group B)
  • 01 Mar 2025: Australia vs Bangladesh (Group A)
  • 02 Mar 2025: Afghanistan vs New Zealand (Group A)
  • 03 Mar 2025: Pakistan vs South Africa (Group B)
  • 04 Mar 2025: England vs India (Group B)
  • 05 Mar 2025: Bangladesh vs New Zealand (Group A)
  • 06 Mar 2025: Afghanistan vs Australia (Group A)
  • 07 Mar 2025: India vs South Africa (Group B)
  • 08 Mar 2025: England vs Pakistan (Group B)
  • 10 Mar 2025: 2nd Semifinal (Group B Winners vs Group A Runners-up)
  • 14 Mar 2025: The Final

Please note that the participation of the Indian Cricket Team is still not confirmed by the BCCI.

Leave a Comment