ICC World Test Championship Points Table – Check the Teams’ Standings!

ICC World Test Championship Points Table

The nine complete members of the ICC WTC 2023–25 will compete in 69 matches spread over 27 series. The ICC World Test Championship Points Table is available. June 16, 2023, marked the start of the ICC WTC 2023–2025. It will end in June 2025.

ICC World Test Championship Points Table

69 matches spread over 27 series amongst the nine complete members will be contested during the ICC WTC 2023–25. The final will be attended by the top two teams. Starting on June 16, 2023, and ending in June 2025, is the ICC WTC 2023–2025. 

The third iteration of the ICC World Test Championship is being hosted by the ICC from 2023 to 25. The ICC World Test Championship’s third cycle got underway in June with the England and Australia match in the Ashes 2023 series. In England, the five-game series came to a 2-2 conclusion.

Team Played Won Lost Draw  Point Deductions Points  Point Percentage
India 9 6 2 1 -2 74 68.51
New Zealand 5 3 2 0 0 36 60.00
Australia 11 7 3 1 -10 78 59.09
Bangladesh 2 1 1 0 0 12 50.00
Pakistan 5 2 3 0 -2 22 36.66
West Indies 4 1 2 1 0 16 33.33
South Africa 4 1 3 0 0 12 25.00
England 10 3 6 1 -19 21 17.5
Sri Lanka 2 0 2 0 0 0 00.00

The Australian cricket team defeated India by 209 runs in the 2023 World T20 Championship final played at The Oval, making them the reigning champions. After defeating India in the final of 2021, New Zealand became the first-ever WTC champions.

WTC 2023–25 will include nine ICC full members competing in 27 series for 69 matches in total. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the West Indies are the nine competing teams.

ICC World Test Championship Standings

After losing four games in a row in India, England’s point percentage dropped to 17.5 from 19.44, keeping them in eighth position in the rankings. India controlled all three days of the fifth Test after mounting an incredible comeback to win the series.

After winning the toss, England captain Ben Stokes decided to bat first, and his top order supported the decision by scoring 100 runs at a cost of only one wicket. 

India’s reaction was spearheaded by Rohit Sharma and Yashasvi Jaiswal, a century-long partnership. Even though Jaiswal was dismissed for 57, Rohit and Shubman Gill carried on India’s momentum, having become just the second Indian to surpass 700 runs in a Test series. Together, the two batsmen amassed a century and 171 more runs for the second wicket.

India finished at 477 thanks to half-centuries from Sarfaraz Khan (56) and debutant Devdutt Padikkal (65), as well as a valiant 49-run partnership between Kuldeep and Jasprit Bumrah. With his 5/173, Shoaib Bashir was the best bowler for England. 

After dismissing Kuldeep on the third morning, James Anderson ended at 2/60 and became the first bowler to ever reach 700 Test wickets.

ICC World Test Championship Points Table

ICC WTC Points Distribution

Each squad will play in six series, with the amount of matches in each series determining how 120 points are awarded to each series. A three-match series will provide 40 points for each Test match, but a two-match series would award 60 points for each Test. A draw is worth three times as many points as a tie, and a tie earns half of the points that are possible.

# Points available per Match    Percentage of Points      
Win 12   100
Tie 6 50
Draw  4 33.33
Loss 0 0

Kuldeep Yadav (5/72) showed off his brilliance, however, in the second session. In his 100th Test match, R Ashwin too made a contribution with 4/51 in the first innings. The defeat of England by 218 runs was aided by his fourth five-for in a Test.

ICC World Test Championship Format and Points System

The ICC World Test Championship features a unique points system that aims to reward teams for both winning and drawing matches. The traditional win offers the highest points, but draws and ties also contribute to a team’s overall tally. The significance of each series lies not just in the outcome but also in the number of matches played, as not all series are of the same length.

For instance, a two-match series provides fewer opportunities for points accumulation than a five-match series. This dynamic adds complexity to the points table, making it a fascinating journey for teams as they navigate their way through the competition.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top