T20 World Cup Groups 2024, Teams, Schedule, Prize Money 

The ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will begin on 1 June 2024, the event is co-hosted by USA and West Indies. ICC has announced the biennial Twenty-20 international tournament schedule, format, groups, etc. Cricket enthusiasts can read the article to know everything about the upcoming T20 World Cup. 

T20 World Cup Groups

The 2024 T20 World Cup tournament is the first ICC tournament featuring the USA as host. According to ICC, three venues in the USA and 6 in the West Indies will be used for the tournament. A total of 55 matches will be played in the ICC T20 tournament where 16 will be held in the USA and the rest in the Caribbean Venues. 

 20 teams will play in the tournament where five teams are placed in the group stage from 1 June 2024 to 29 June 2024. 

The ICC  T20 Men’s World Cup groups are as follows:

Groups ICC Men’s National Teams 
Group A India, Canada, Pakistan, Ireland, USA
Group B England, Namibia, Australia, Oman, Scotland
Group C Afghanistan, Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, West Indies, Uganda
Group D South Africa, Nepal, Bangladesh, Netherlands, Sri Lanka

T20 World Cup Format 

The 20 different teams representing their nations will play against each other for the winning title of 2024 T20 Champions. In the first stage of the T20 tournament, the teams will play against each other in the Group Stage, where each team will play at least four matches against other group members of their respective group. 

The top 2 from each group will qualify for the Super 8s stage of the T20 tournament, whereas the bottom three from each group will be eliminated from the ICC T20 tournament.

The Super 8s team will be further segmented into two different groups to determine the semi-finalists of the tournament. The teams in two groups will play three matches against each other and the top 2 teams of the group table will qualify to play the semi-finals.

The semi-final winners will play the final match to win the T20 World Cup trophy on 29 June 2024. 

T20 World Cup Schedule 2024

Date  Teams  Venue  Local Time
1 June 2024 USA v Canada Dallas, Texas 7:30 PM
2 June 2024 WI v PNG Guyana 10:30 AM 
Namibia v Oman Barbados 8:30 PM
3 June 2024 SL v South Africa New York 9:30 AM
AFG v Uganda Guyana 8:30 PM
4 June  ENG v Scotland Barbados 10:30 AM
Netherlands v Nepal Dallas 10:30 AM
5 June 2024 Ireland v India New York 10:30 AM 
PNG v Uganda Guyana 7:30 PM
AUS v Oman Barbados  8:30 PM
6 June 2024 USA v PAK Dallas 10:30 AM 
Namibia v Scotland Barbados 3:00 PM
7  June 2024 Canada V Ireland NY 9:30 AM
NZ v AFG Guyana 7:30 PM
SL v BAN Dallas 7:30 PM
8 June 2024 Netherlands v SA NY 9:30 AM
AUS v ENG Barbados 1;00 Pm
WI v Uganda Guyana 8:30 PM
9 June 2024 IND V PAK NY 9:30 Am
Oman V Scotland Antigua 1:00 PM
10 June 2024 SA v BANG NY 9:30 AM
11 June 2024 PAK v Canada NY 9:30 AM
SL v Nepal Florida 7:30 PM
AUS v Namibia Antigua 8:30 PM
12 June 2024 USA v IND NY 9:30 AM
WIv NZ Trinidad 8:30 PM
13 June 2024 ENG v Oman  Antigua 3:00 PM
BANG v Netherlands St.Vincent 10:30 AM
AFG v PNG Trinidad 8:30 PM
14 June 2024 USA v Ireland Florida 10:30 AM
SA v Nepal St.Vincent 7:30 PM
NZ V Uganda Trinidad 8:30 PM
15 June 2024 IND v Canada Florida 10:30 AM
Namibia v ENG Antigua 1:00 PM
AUS v Scotland St.Lucia 8:30 PM
16 June 2024 PAK v Ireland Florida 10:30 AM
BANG V Nepal St. Vincent 7:30 PM
SL v Netherlands St.Lucia 8:30 PM
17 June 2024 NZ v PNG Trinidad 10:30 AM
WI v AFG St.Lucia 8:30 Pm

T20 World Cup New conditions for tie matches

ICC has introduced new conditions for matches finishing with a tie in the 2024 T20 tournament. According to the new conditions, super over will be played for tied matches till we have the winner of the respective match. 

ICC has also given additional time to ensure the completion of all fixtures. ICC has added 250 minutes for both semifinals, where Semi-final 1 will have an extra 60 minutes and Semi-final 2 will have an extra 190 minutes at the end of the day’s play.

T20 World Cup Prize money 

ICC has not announced the prize money of the 2024 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, but seeing the past trend, we can expect prize money of over $1.6 million for the upcoming T20 championship.

The short format of cricket is here to entertain you with thrilling matches at the USA and West Indies venues. Cricket enthusiasts get ready to witness the magic of the T20 game where 20 nations teams will fight for the T20 World Title and England will defend its 2022 championship. 

Leave a Comment